This was the first design brief we were given. I had to create 8 different thumbnails inspired by the word ‘Queen’. To begin the assignment I brainstormed all of the things that came to mind to do with the word. I then began making small sketches of ideas. I was most drawn towards the idea of Marie Antoinette and 17th century palacial french living. I instantly had a colour palate in mind inspired by textiles and wallpapers. I also kept coming back to the fashion of the era, in particular the hairstyles and came up with this image.

Another image that was staying with this 17th century mood…

This was more of a typography design. I cut out different letters from magazines and played with the notorious guillotine idea.

This thumbnail is another typography based design. I hand-painted the Q for this piece inspired by fairytales.



